Being a Gig Buddy is a great way to make a positive impact to people’s lives while having a good time and building friendships.

Gig Buddies matches volunteers with adults - with a learning disability, recovering from a mental health condition or an older person - so they can access events and activities, reducing loneliness and social isolation.

Below are a few of the volunteering opportunities around Oxfordshire (names have been changed).


Banbury

Ian enjoys walks in the countryside, visiting gardens and national trust properties. Could you spare an afternoon a month to support Ian to visit the beautiful Costswold countryside?

Andrew enjoys the cinema, theatre, guided tours, museums and days out in the countryside. He has a great sense of humour and would really like to make someone laugh on days out. 

Simon is a young man who is into punk and mental music. He enjoys seeing live bands, visiting Camden and going to the pub. He also likes going to the gym. Could you rock out with Simon?


Abingdon

Katie likes learning about history and visiting stately homes and museums. She also enjoys walks in the countryside and loves horses. Could you spend an afternoon delving into history or enjoying the countryside with Katie? 

Sally likes going bowling and going to the cinema. She enjoys visits to the theatre and the pub. Sally would like to make a friend to go and do these things with. Could this be you? 

Kenny likes going out for pub meals. He has a learning disability but is very independent. He has never been to see a live band and would really like someone to go with. Could you enjoy new experiences with Kenny? 


Witney

Allen Loves live music, local bands and festivals and he is a lively fun-loving life kind of guy. Could you support Allen to do the things he loves?

John has a keen interest in history. He likes national trust properties, museums and battle re-enactments. He also enjoys the theatre and cinema. He is a young man and would like to make friends his own age. Could this be you?


Area: Oxford

Mark is a young man who would like to make some new friends. He enjoys the seeing action films at the cinema, likes bowling and going to the pub. Could you help Mark widen his social circle? 

Molly is an artist and loves to create. She likes visiting galleries and enjoys the cinema but mostly wants to get out to do something new, she will try anything once! If you have an adventurous side and a few hours to spare could you discover new things together?

Pippa is an older lady with a passion for art galleries. She also enjoys spending an afternoon looking around the Oxford museums, followed by coffee and cake. If this is your idea of the perfect afternoon, could you Buddy with Pippa? 


Bicester

James would like to go to the gym and get fit.  He needs support in doing this and trying other new things due to his Autism. Could you support James in his quest for fitness?

Marcus Is a big Chelsea fan. He enjoys music, bowling and theme parks. Marcus also likes keeping fit by going to the gym. He is a young man with a sparky personality. Could you hang out with Marcus? 

My Life My Choice is registered in England under charity number 1073247 at Unit 3, Watlington House, Watlington Road, Oxford. We use cookies to improve your experience using this website. To learn more, read our privacy policy.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse